top of page

OH BOY! Oberto Top Seafair Qualifier!

Jean Theoret drove Oh Boy! Oberto to the top qualifying speed for the Albert Lee Appliance Seafair Cup on Seattle’s Lake Washington. Theoret averaged 150.093 mph around the two mile oval course.

“We’re very pleased,” he said. “The Oberto team did a very good job putting the boat back together.” The Oberto was damaged when it collided with Miss HomeStreet in the final heat at the Columbia Cup last Sunday and the crew worked most of the week repairing the damage.

“Our next goal is to accumulate points and make it into the final,” Theoret said. He cautioned, “There’s always a surprise, you never know.”

Jimmy Shane guided Miss HomeStreet to the second fastest qualifying speed at 147.737 mph.

“Miss HomeStreet qualified second fastest and that’s an improvement over last weekend,” Shane said. He was third fastest at the Columbia Cup a week ago. “Course conditions got worse right before we went out for qualifying and that kept us from getting closer to the Oberto’s speed,” he explained.

Other qualifiers include Sound Propeller presents Les Schwab Tires, driven by Andrew Tate at a speed of 147.598; Graham Trucking driven by J. Michael Kelly with an average of 147.504; Albert Lee Appliance, with Brian Perkins in the cockpit, and an average of 145.091; Miss DiJulio, driven by Jimmy King, with an average speed of 142.272; Peters & May, driven by Tom Thompson at an average of 140.156; Graham Trucking II with Jeff Bernard at the wheel and an average speed of 138.020, and CARSTAR Miss Rock, driven by Kevin Eacrett, and a speed of 134.285.

Shortly after the course closed, the draw for Saturday’s heats 1A and 1B was held. In heat 1A, Shane and Miss HomeStreet will go against J. Michael Kelly in Graham Trucking, Brian Perkins in Albert Lee Appliance, Jimmy King in Miss DiJulio, and Kevin Eacrett in CARSTAR Miss Rock. Heat 1B will have Theoret in Oh Boy! Oberto going against Jeff Bernard in Graham Trucking II, Tom Thompson in Peters & May, and Andrew Tate in Sound Propeller presents Les Schwab Tires.

Additional preliminary heats will be held Sunday, with the winner-take-all final scheduled for 4:00 Sunday afternoon.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page